As used by the University, the term tuition refers to a comprehensive fee that includes payment of instructional programs, academic services, student services and activities, recreational sports, and intercollegiate athletics. All fees are subject to approval and/or change by the Board of Visitors.
Information related to the comprehensive tuition can be found on the website for the Office of Finance at http://www.odu.edu/admission/costs-tuition/tuition/tuition-rates.
Students who are eligible to enroll in a combination of undergraduate and graduate courses in any given semester must pay tuition for the courses at the appropriate levels as prescribed. Graduate hours are available at graduate tuition rates, and undergraduate rates apply for undergraduate hours.
Housing Charges—2020-21 Academic Year*
|Average room and board per year||$10,739|
Applied Music Fees—2020-21 Academic Year*
|Individual Instruction (2 or 3 credits, one hour of instruction)||$250.00|
|Individual Instruction (1 credit, one-half hour of instruction)||$175.00|
|Group Instruction (class piano or voice)||$75.00|
Course Fees—2020-21 Academic Year*
Other Charges and Fees—2020-21 Academic Year*
|Other Charges and Fees||Amount|
|Technology-Delivered Course Fee||$30 per credit hour|
|Athletic Training (MSAT) Program Fee||$200 per semester|
|Graduate Engineering Program Course Fee||$25 per credit hour|
|MBA Program Course Fee||$125 per credit hour|
|Nursing Undergraduate Pre-Licensure Program Fee||$375 per semester|
|Nursing Graduate MSN Program Fee||$450 per semester|
|Nurse Anesthesia Program Fee||$1,500 per semester|
|Late Penalty Fee||5% of past due amount|
|Payment Plan Processing Fee (non-refundable)||$40|
|Returned Check Processing Charge||$50|
|Collection Fees||25% of past due amount|
|Transcript Processing Charge (per copy)||$5|
|Thesis, Dissertation Binding Service Charge (first five copies)||$60|
|Each Additional Copy||$18|
|Ph.D. Dissertation - Microfilming||$65|
|Ph.D. Dissertation - Copyrighting||$55|
All fees are tentative and subject to final approval by the Board of Visitors and/or the President. Those listed are in effect as of 2020-21 and are subject to change.
Does not apply to Old Dominion University full-time faculty and staff and their full-time dependents and former Old Dominion University students seeking readmission who have not attended another institution since leaving Old Dominion.
Veterans Access, Choice, and Accountability Act of 2014 (As Amended by Public Law 114-315) and Title 38, U.S.C Section 3679(c)
The following individuals shall be charged a rate of tuition not to exceed the in-state rate for tuition and fees purposes:
• A Veteran using educational assistance under either chapter 30 (Montgomery G.I. Bill – Active Duty Program) or chapter 33 (Post-9/11 G.I. Bill), of title 38, United States Code, who lives in the Commonwealth of Virginia while attending a school located in the Commonwealth (regardless of his/her formal State of residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of discharge or release from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
• Anyone using transferred Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits (38 U.S.C. § 3319) who lives in the Commonwealth of Virginia while attending a school located in the Commonwealth (regardless of his/her formal State of residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of the transferor's discharge or release from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
• Anyone using transferred Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits (38 U.S.C. § 3319) who lives in the Commonwealth of Virginia while attending a school located in the Commonwealth (regardless of his/her formal State of residence) and the transferor is a member of the uniformed service who is serving on active duty.
• Anyone using benefits under the Marine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship (38 U.S.C. § 3311(b)(9)) who lives in the Commonwealth of Virginia while attending a school located in the Commonwealth of Virginia (regardless of his/her formal State of residence).
• Anyone described above while he or she remains continuously enrolled (other than during regularly scheduled breaks between courses, semesters, or terms) at the same school. The person so described must have enrolled in the school prior to the expiration of the three year period following discharge, release, or death described above and must be using educational benefits under either chapter 30, 31 or 33, of title 38, United States Code.
• An individual using educational assistance under chapter 31, Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (VR&E) who lives in the Commonwealth of Virginia while attending a school located in the Commonwealth of Virginia (regardless of his/her formal State of residence) effective for courses, semesters, or terms beginning after March 1, 2019.
-Approved by the Board of Visitors
In-State Tuition Status (Residency)
To be considered a Virginia resident for tuition purposes for any given semester, it is necessary that the applicant be domiciled in the Commonwealth of Virginia for at least one year immediately preceding the beginning of that term. Domicile is a technical legal concept and is defined as the place (state) where a person resides with the unqualified intention of remaining indefinitely. Domicile is generally evidenced by such things as payment of income, real estate, and personal property taxes, voter and automobile registration, and driver’s license. Residence in Virginia for the purpose of securing an education alone does not qualify a person for classification as a Virginia student for tuition purposes. The application deadline for in-state status is the first day of classes of the term for which the in-state status is being sought.
The General Assembly of Virginia has enacted several special provisions for veterans, active duty military, spouses and dependents. Please refer to www.odu.edu/registrar for current guidelines.
A student who meets the criteria for resident tuition during his or her course of study at Old Dominion University is not automatically reclassified to such status. He or she must request such classification, using an appeal form available from the Office of the University Registrar. By law, appeals of classifications must be submitted before the start of classes for the term in which the change is sought. Copies of the Virginia statute and guidelines issued by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia are on reserve in the University Library and are available at www.schev.edu (search for “domicile”). Because of the length of those requirements, they are not printed in this catalog. Additional information may be obtained from the Office of the University Registrar.
Students who fail to complete the Application for Instate Tuition are classified at the out-of-state tuition rate.
Student residency records may be audited for compliance with the Code of Virginia. Students may be required to submit supporting documentation if audited. Documentation may include driver’s license, motor vehicle registration, etc.
Billing Cycle/Tuition Deadlines
Through the act of registration, either by registering online or by registration form, students accept responsibility for charges incurred. All University charges are due and payable by the established deadlines. The total amount due must be received by 5:00 p.m. on the deadline date shown on the statement to avoid financial penalties. Students unable to pay the total due by the tuition deadline may opt for participation in the University payment plan (fall and spring only). If charges remain unpaid 30 days after the due date, a 5% late payment penalty is assessed. Once the account is 120 days past due, it is forwarded to a collection agency and assessed an additional 25%. Tuition deadlines are published for each term: http://www.odu.edu/admission/costs-tuition/tuition/billing/due-dates.
The University sends student debt notifications by e-mail. It is the student’s responsibility to activate the ODU.EDU e-mail address issued to all admitted students. Please refer to Leo Online for specific types of notification covered. Approximately 30 days before the payment due date, advance billing statements for tuition and fees are sent to students who have preregistered. Students are expected to access account information through the secured access site on the web at www.leoonline.odu.edu. Any student who registers or adds classes after any advance billing may be issued a statement by electronic mail during the next billing cycle, and charges will be subject to late payment fees. Failure to receive a reminder bill confirming charges does not waive the requirement to make payment when due, and financial penalties may accrue.
Maintenance of contact information listed on a student account is the responsibility of the student. A student's permanent and local addresses and phone numbers (home, cell, and work) listed on the student account may be changed through the student's LeoOnline account at www.leoonline.odu.edu at any time. By providing such information, students authorize the University or its contracted agents to send correspondence and/or to contact the student via the use of e-mail and telephone (using auto-dialer or manual communication). This also authorizes the University or its contracted agents to contact the student by using any other contact information supplied to the University.
Failure to Pay Tuition
Students’ registrations will not be canceled for failure to pay tuition. Nonpayment will not release students from the financial obligation for tuition charges. Students are strongly encouraged to follow University procedures and meet published deadlines to officially drop classes and be released from charges. Stopping payment on a tuition draft does not constitute a cancellation of the student’s registration.
Payment/Student Accounts (Cashiers' Windows)
Students may pay for tuition and fees with personal checks, money orders, cash, or credit card (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express). The Office of Finance no longer accepts credit card payments at the cashiers' windows. Cash payments should be made at the Office of Finance cashiers' windows ONLY. Check/money order payments may be mailed to Office of Finance, Student Accounts, Old Dominion University, Alfred B. Rollins, Jr. Hall, Norfolk, VA 23529-0045. Personal checks will be accepted for the exact amount of fees and/or other amounts owed the University. Students may make credit card payments via Leo Online only. Students who pay using a credit card will be charged a convenience fee. Third party payments are accepted upon submission of authorization documents. Payments on all financial obligations to the University will be applied on the basis of age of the debt. The oldest debt will be paid first. Postdated checks are not scrutinized and will be deposited upon receipt. The cashiers do not cash checks or make cash refunds. Checks must be provided in U.S. dollars. Checks written in excess of assessed fees or other amounts owed to the University will be accepted and processed, but the excess will be refunded to the student by mail or electronically at a later date. Over-payments on students' accounts of $5 or less that are not created by a financial aid disbursement will not be refunded unless students request the refund from the Student Accounts office.
Cash Payments over $10,000
Anytime the University receives over $10,000 in cash, money orders, traveler's checks, or cashier's checks in one or more related reportable transactions, the IRS requires the University to file Form 8300. This form must be filed within 15 days of reaching payments totaling over $10,000 and must also identify the individual making the cash payment. Reportable transactions include payment of services such as tuition, room and board, fees, and other related educational costs. Any individual making a cash payment of $10,000 or more will be required to complete a Cash Intake Form upon making the payment. If the individual refuses to complete the form, the cash payment cannot be accepted.
Third-Party Payment Authorizations
The financial guarantee for payment of tuition and fees must be addressed specifically to Old Dominion University, Student Accounts, and printed on agency letterhead, purchase order, or voucher. Payments must be unconditionally guaranteed and made by the due date specified on the University’s invoice. Amendments to the financial guarantee are required in writing. Prior to the University processing authorizations, students may receive an individual billing statement. Students must provide the third-party billing authorization or government training voucher to the Office of Finance before the student’s individual payment due date. Failure to submit the authorization by the established deadline may result in a student billing, assessment of late fees and a financial hold on the student’s account. An agency with a past due balance may have billing privileges terminated. Sponsoring agencies and students being sponsored by these agencies should be aware that the student is ultimately responsible for any defaults in payments by the sponsoring agency. A student whose employer or sponsor reimburses him or her for tuition after receipt of grades is not considered a third party. A student must pay in full upon registration or by the stated due date to avoid financial penalties. Contact the third-party billing coordinator for billing requirements or check the Office of Finance web site, http://www.odu.edu/admission/costs-tuition/tuition/billing/payment-options/third-party.
Student Account Inquiry
The University reserves the right to request information on the student identification number and/or a photo identification when releasing information or conducting other financial transactions. Specific account information will be released only to the student. Each student account can be viewed using any Internet browser. Students are strongly encouraged to access records directly through their secure access site on www.leoonline.odu.edu. Students are expected and required to assume responsibility for their own financial matters and to abide by the laws of the Commonwealth and the rules and regulations of the University. Failure to read and comply with University regulations will not exempt students from whatever penalties they may incur.
The University will not issue a degree, diploma, transcript of grades, grade report, or permit registration for future terms to any student who has not paid all debts in full. Students with account holds are permitted to drop classes to reduce debt or withdraw to prevent academic penalty.
Virginia State law requires that the University make every attempt to collect past due amounts owed to state agencies. If, after 120 days, full payment of a debt has not been received, the account will be placed with a collection agency. Account holders are responsible for any collection costs incurred at a rate of 25% of the total due. Several other actions may be taken including the following: the account can be listed by the Credit Bureau as a bad debt; a delinquent account can be collected in full from income tax refunds, lottery winnings or other refunds due from the state (for Virginia residents); and the account may be turned over to the Virginia Attorney General’s Office for litigation. Timely payment is strongly encouraged so that collection efforts can be avoided.
Set-off Debt Collection Act
The University pursues debt in accordance with the guidelines set forth by the Commonwealth of Virginia in the Virginia Debt Collection Act. Under the provisions of this act, an individual’s Virginia income tax refund, lottery winnings or other refunds due from the state will be subject to the University’s claim for any unpaid balance of tuition and fees. Any communication disputing an amount owed must be submitted in writing to the manager of student accounts/accounts receivable, Office of Finance.
Dishonored Checks and Charge Cards
A $50.00 fee will be charged for each returned check or charge. If collection action is necessary, students will be liable for all collection agency costs. Stopping payment on a tuition draft does not constitute a cancellation of the student’s registration. Each account will be allowed three returned checks, after which payment by check will not be accepted. This includes returned electronic payments. Care should be taken when entering bank account information when making an electronic payment. The $50 fee will not be waived for errors in account entry.
University Payment Plan (not available on past due balances)
The University offers a payment plan during fall and spring semesters ONLY. Payment plan agreements may be obtained through Leo Online and are established for a specified four-month period each semester (refer to the Office of Finance website, www.odu.edu/paymentplan). Payment plans are established on the student’s total charges for tuition and/or housing. There is a $40.00 non-refundable processing fee to establish the plan each semester. Students must be in good standing with their student account to be eligible to participate. Failure to pay on time may prevent students from using the payment plan process to defer payments in future terms. If any payment is 30 days past due, the student will be removed from the payment plan and the entire payment plan balance will be due and payable. A 5% late penalty will be assessed on the entire balance on the next billing date.
Tuition Refund Policy
The total tuition is considered fully earned by the University once scheduled classes have begun in any semester or summer session. Failure to attend the course after registering is not justification for elimination of charges.
For refund purposes, the beginning date of class is defined as the first official class date for the term. Students desiring to drop or withdraw from the University must formally notify the University using the official procedures set by the Office of the University Registrar. Refunds will be computed based on the actual withdrawal date certified by the Office of the University Registrar. Refunds will not be made to students who do not attend classes and have not completed the required withdrawal procedure. Refunds are issued by check or electronically (for those who sign up for e-Refunds) for all payments, including credit cards. Please refer to the Office of Finance website for refund dates: http://www.odu.edu/admission/costs-tuition/tuition/refunds.
In accordance with the refund periods, a full or partial refund of the difference between tuition paid and the new tuition charges will be granted if the per credit rates differ. In those instances where the revised tuition charges are greater, the additional tuition charges will be assessed.
Drop and Add
No refund or additional tuition charges are assessed for students who drop and add an equal number of credit hours on the same day within the same semester/session if the per credit tuition rates are the same.
Administrative drops, as in the case of classes canceled by the University or the case of academically suspended students, entitle the student to a full refund of tuition.
Refund Policy on Financial Aid Funds
Federal regulations mandate the treatment of refunds for financial aid recipients. Financial aid funds are returned to the government when charges were paid by financial aid and a refund is given a student who fully withdraws from the University. Financial aid recipients may request more detailed information from the Financial Aid Office as federal refund guidelines are subject to change.
Tuition Appeal Policy
Students who must withdraw (with a grade of W or WF only) after the end of the refund period may appeal for a refund under the Tuition Appeal Policy. The purpose of the tuition appeal process is to provide an opportunity for students to explain mitigating circumstances that prohibited them from course completion. All appeals must be in writing with supporting documentation as appropriate. Upon review of the information submitted, the Tuition Appeal Committee may approve a refund or a release of financial charges under pre-approved conditions or recommend an exception. Committee decisions are final.
Students have the responsibility to submit an appeal within one year of the tuition due date for which charges are being appealed and to demonstrate compliance with the policy. Documentation is required, especially in cases of illness, death, and changes in employment shifts or military orders. Depending on the complexity of the appeal and the receipt of all supporting documentation, processing time on appeals can vary from two to four weeks. Late fees and collection fees are not appealable charges.
Tuition appeals will generally be approved for the following reasons as long as the appropriate supporting documentation on official letterhead with original signature is provided: extended periods of physical illness, extended periods of physical or mental illness of the student’s immediate family member, death of a student’s immediate family member, job transfers outside of Hampton Roads or extended campus site, involuntary changes in employment schedule or military deployment, or a statement from the Office of Student Engagement and Enrollment Services authorizing an administrative withdrawal for medical reasons.
Students are strongly discouraged from submitting appeals that are based on lack of awareness of University policies and procedures, changes in personal circumstances or decisions, dissatisfaction with academic progress, or personal errors in judgment, including not attending class, as they will not be considered for approval. Issues related to the dissatisfaction with course content, delivery of instruction, or dissatisfaction with an advisor or instructor should be addressed with the chair of the academic department rather than through this appeal process.
Tuition appeal forms and full details are available from the Office of Finance web site: http://www.odu.edu/admission/costs-tuition/tuition/appeals.
Employee Fee Waiver
Full-time faculty and staff registered for on-campus courses may have the transportation fee waived provided a faculty/staff parking decal has been purchased. Accounts are adjusted after the end of the drop/add period.
Senior Citizen Tuition Waiver
An educational benefit under the Code of VA 23.1-640, Senior Citizen’s Higher Education Act of 1974, a senior citizen shall be permitted under regulations as may be prescribed by the State Council of Higher Education:
- To register for and enroll in courses as a full-time or part-time student for academic credit if such senior citizen had a taxable individual income not exceeding $23,850 for Virginia income tax purposes for the year preceding the year in which enrollment is sought;
- To register for and audit up to three courses offered for academic credit in any one semester for an unlimited number of semesters; and
- To register for and enroll in up to three courses not offered for academic credit in any one semester for an unlimited number of semesters.
Such senior citizen shall pay no tuition or fees except those established for the purpose of paying for course materials, such as laboratory fees, but shall be subject to the admission requirements of the institution and a determination by the institution of its ability to offer the course or courses for which the senior citizen registers.
Senior citizen eligibility terms require that individuals must:
- Be at least age 60 before the beginning of the semester.
- Have had legal domicile in the Commonwealth of Virginia for at least one year before the first day of classes.
- Register only on or after the first official day of classes. (Eligible students may submit the form found at www.odu.edu/registrar, but staff will not process the form prior to the first day of classes for the semester.)
- Have a taxable individual income not exceeding $23,850 for Virginia income tax purposes for the preceding year in order to be exempt from tuition for credit-bearing classes.
Senior citizens may be admitted to a course only on a space-available basis after all tuition-paying students have been accommodated.
Audited classes (no credit) are tuition-free for all senior citizens domiciled in VA.
Perkins Loan Exit Interviews
The Perkins Loan Program requires that all recipients attend an exit interview before graduating, leaving the University, or attending less than half-time for the semester enrolled. During the interview session, the student is informed of his or her rights and responsibilities, including grace period, deferments and how they work, and cancellation privileges. Students are notified of exit interviews by mail. If a student fails to attend the exit interview or return the required materials, a hold is placed on the student’s account, transcript and/or diploma until the University has received all the proper paperwork required to meet federal regulations. The Federal Direct Student Loan program is a distinctly separate loan program and has another exit process. For information on the Federal Direct Student Loan exit interviews, please contact the Office of Financial Aid.
Deferment for Veterans
Old Dominion University offers a deferment for veterans, which extends the payment deadline for students whose veterans’ benefits are not available by the tuition deadline. Generally, the deferment period extends the date of payment until the specified date shown below or until funds become available, whichever comes first. Deferments are a separate program and should not be confused with other University payment arrangements.
Students participating in educational programs through the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) may qualify for a deferment of tuition only. Interested students should contact the Office of the University Registrar for more information. Deferments are only granted prior to the tuition deadline for each semester, provided all past due debts are satisfied. Veterans’ deferments expire on November 1 for fall and April 1 for spring. No VA tuition deferments are offered for summer sessions.
Chapter 31 or Chapter 33
If a student wishes to use Chapter 31 or Chapter 33 the University will defer students' semester charges. These semester charges will be deferred a minimum of 90 days from the tuition deadline. Charges not covered by the VA must be paid by the tuition deadline to prevent penalty fees. Penalties will not be imposed on charges covered by the VA, but may be imposed on charges that are past due and not covered by the VA.
Fall deferment ends November 25
Spring deferment ends April 10
Summer deferment ends October 3
Balance of Aid Refunds
Grants, scholarships and loans are credited to the student’s account in the order received. After all charges are fully paid, refunds will be issued as excess payments are credited to the account. Expected installment payments are deducted from the account prior to the release of the refund. All refund checks (except Plus Loan refunds) are made payable to the student and are mailed to the student’s permanent home address or electronically deposited. The refund check will be mailed five to seven business days after the refund entry is made on the account. Due to security reasons, checks are not available for pick up.
Checks that are lost, mutilated or destroyed can be replaced. Mutilated or expired checks should be submitted for replacement. For checks that are lost, 10 business days from the date the original check was issued must expire before a written request for a replacement check will be accepted. The ten-day period allows for the original check to be forwarded by the postal service or returned to the University. A “stop payment” of the original check requires two-four business days to process at the bank. Once the stop payment has been confirmed by the bank, a replacement check can be issued. Expect a minimum of an additional two-four business days to process a replacement check. Please note that international checks will take longer.
Education Tax Credits
The Taxpayer Relief Act (TRA) of 1997, enacted by Congress, created two tax benefits for families who are paying for higher education. On January 31 of each year, all eligible students are issued a 1098T form for the prior calendar year. Students are directed to consult a tax professional or the Internal Revenue Service for matters related to tax credits.
Information related to tuition and fees, billing, refunds, payment options and related forms may be directed to Customer Relations located in the downstairs lobby of Alfred B. Rollins, Jr. Hall:
Local (757) 683-3030
Toll-free (800) 224-1450
FAX (757) 683-4100
Office of Finance
Old Dominion University
Alfred B. Rollins, Jr. Hall
Norfolk, VA 23529
Fees for Noncredit Programs
The fees for noncredit programs vary according to the activity. Noncredit courses are free to all senior citizens on a space-available basis.